Confirmed F1 drivers for 2021

The grid for the 2021 season is gradually taking shape after the confirmation of several names since the beginning of the year.

With the official confirmation on Wednesday of Fernando Alonso’s return to F1 from next season with the Renault team, the 2021 grid is gradually beginning to take shape.



Ricciardo teasing Alonso’s live Instagram by repeatedly saying ‘I love you’ in Spanish



Fernando Alonso will be driving for Renault F1 alongside Esteban Ocon in the Formula 1 championship from next year.

Earlier this year, it was Ferrari that triggered the hostilities with the confirmation of the arrival in 2021 of the Spaniard Carlos Sainz in his team alongside Charles Leclerc.

The arrival of Carlos Sainz at Ferrari allowed Daniel Ricciardo to sign a multi-year contract with the McLaren team from 2021 where he will join British driver Lando Norris, while German Sebastian Vettel suddenly found himself available on the transfer market when he was fired by Ferrari.

At Red Bull, the contract of the team’s star driver Max Verstappen has already been renewed for several years this winter, while Ferrari has done the same with Charles Leclerc, who has been offered a contract until 2024 with the Italian team.


Although the announcement has not been “official”, Racing Point team director Otmar Szafnauer has already confirmed Lance Stroll and Sergio Perez for next season on several occasions, while rumours have been circulating for some weeks now that Sebastian Vettel could replace Stroll at Aston Martin [the new team name] next year.


However, with the Racing Point team belonging to Lance Stroll’s father, it is hard to see how Sebastian Vettel could replace him.

Below is the list of drivers who have already been confirmed for the 2021 season:


The drivers of the 2021 grid

Driver Team
F Alonso Renault
E Ocon Renault
L Norris McLaren
D Ricciardo McLaren
C Leclerc Ferrari
C Sainz Ferrari
M Verstappen Red Bull
S Perez Racing Point
L Stroll Racing Point
G Russell Williams
A Albon ???
R Grosjean ???
K Magnussen ???
D Kvyat ???
P Gasly ???
L Hamilton ???
V Bottas ???
K Raikkonen ???
A Giovinazzi ???
S Vettel ???
N Latifi ???




Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.